It’s Up to Parents to Teach Children God’s Word

by Voddie Baucham (at Family Life.com)

Imagine your boss came into your office and said, “Congratulations, you have just been promoted.” What if that promotion meant stepping into a job for which you felt inadequate and/or unprepared? How would you respond? Would you say, “Thank you, sir, but I am not up to the task”? Or would you say, “Thank you, sir, I’ll do my best”? I think most of us would welcome the challenge and rise to the occasion.
As parents, that’s exactly what God said to us when He gave us children. He said, “Congratulations, you’ve just been promoted to the position of parent.” That means that everything God requires of parents is part of your new job description. At this point you have two choices. You can either say, “Thank You, God, but You must have taken momentary leave of Your senses. There’s no way I can train my children in the Word.” Or you can say, “Thank You, God. I know You don’t make mistakes, and if You gave me this child, You will also give me everything I need to bring her up in the discipline and instruction of the Lord.”
I wish I could say that my response was the latter. However, I must admit that I was terrified. I was a twenty-one-year-old college junior who had been married for ten months. I remember looking at one of my professors and asking, “What am I going to do?” He looked back at me and said, “You are going to do the same thing fathers have been doing for thousands of years.” Suddenly it dawned on me—I wasn’t the first man to become a father while he was in college. I could handle this. I wasn’t sure how, but I knew that with God’s help I could handle this.
My professor’s words of encouragement have echoed in my mind for the past fifteen years. I am still trying to navigate my role as a husband and father, but I am sure that God has given me what I need to accomplish the task to which I have been called.

Click here to read the whole article.

Leave a Reply

