Salting the Culture for Christ

My wife and I have been educating our children at home for the last eight years. I think I could write a book detailing all of the reasons for this choice. That gives me an idea…

Anyway, one of our reasons is highlighted in this week’s issue of WORLD Magazine (why haven’t you subscribed yet to WORLD?). In the article, Gene Edward Veith contends that Christian parents can help turn the tide of the culture war by “giving [their] kids a better education than their secularist peers.”

My wife and I pray daily that all of the blood, sweat, and tears that we are pouring into our children by educating them at home will lead to godly, well-educated, and world-changing adults. (By the way and for the record, it’s my wife who is donating the vast majority of time, effort, blood, sweat, and tears.) We believe this is how we can best equip our children, as Christ’s ambassadors, to truly live as salt and light in a dark and decaying world.

Click here to read Veith’s very fine article (you may have to register for online use).

Jeff Myers also thinks a great deal about this topic. Here are a few questions he has suggested asking those who you are seeking to equip and encourage to take the baton from you and keep running the race.

Here’s a list of things you can say to communicate blessing and cast a vision for those to whom you’re passing the baton of godly faithfulness:
1. “I’ve made it a certain way up the ladder of life. My goal is to grab you, pull you up, and then push you beyond where I myself could go.”
2. “Someday my life is going to be over and I want to do everything I can to make sure that you’re on the track and ready to take the baton when it happens.”
3. “I love you without condition. Nothing you do will stop me from loving you. But God has also called me to prepare you to advance His kingdom. Nothing you do will stop me from trying to do that either.”
4. “I see enormous potential in your life and I want to walk with you to encourage you and challenge you to fulfill that potential.”
5. “It is vital that you invest whatever talents you’ve been given. Don’t be like the one talent servant who, out of fear and resentment, buried what he had been given” (Matthew 25).

Let’s pray that we can help extend God’s Kingdom into every sphere of life…for his glory and for our good.

Stand Firm,
Dale

Leave a Reply

