Times of Refreshing

Acts 3:19 – “Repent, then, and turn to God, so that your sins may be wiped out, that times of refreshing may come from the Lord,…”

How sweet these words sound to my needful heart. How precious must refreshment from God be.

But first. But first I must repent. I must turn away from sin, from the devil, from worldliness. I must grieve over it, be heartily sorry for it, and forever turn away from it.

Yet it is not merely turning away from such things. I must turn to God. As Barhnouse put it, when I turn to God and become his bond-servant and submit utterly to his will…then I don’t have to give up sin… because sin will give me up.

And then it comes…refreshment. To be saturated with and by God’s renewing, restoring, redeeming, and reconciling Spirit is too wonderful for words. How I long to rest in him alone. We can catch a glimpse of such rest now. But it is only a glimpse. Yet it is more than enough to keep us – to keep me – moving toward him…living for him, becoming like him.

Gracious Father, fill me with the true refreshment that comes only from you. Set me apart that I might live completely for you and bring glory unto you. For Christ’s sake and your glory, Amen.

Stand Firm,
Dale

Leave a Reply

