Whom Do You Fear?

Acts 5:29 – Peter and the other apostles replied: “We must obey God rather than men!

How I wish this described me more often. Far too much I am a man-pleaser or man-fearer rather than a God-pleaser or God-fearer.

I find that my ability to rationalize disobedience is unmatched. “I don’t want to hurt the relationship.” or “I need my pension, and besides, this isn’t an essential matter.” or “Let’s sweep it under the rug and it will simply be forgotten.”

Of course, I would never put my rationalizations this way, but this is basically what I sometimes find myself thinking and saying. And this is wrong because…

  1. It is disobedient to God.
  2. It does not bring him glory to fear anyone or anything more than him.
  3. Great falls are usually the results of continuous, and seemingly minor surrenders and compromises along the way.
  4. There’s no integrity in seeking paths of least resistance.

 

The apostles refused to fear man and paid the price for it. And yet they rejoiced in the opportunity to suffer disgrace for Christ (Acts 5:41). This emboldened them even more to teach and proclaim the good news that Jesus is the Christ (Acts 5:42).

Gracious Lord, make this true of me. Amen.

Stand Firm,
Dale

Leave a Reply

