Help My Unbelief

Psalm 111:2-3, 4b, 7-10

Great are the works of the Lord; they are pondered by all who delight in them.
Glorious and majestic are his deeds, and his righteousness endures forever.
…the Lord is gracious and compassionate.
The works of his hands are faithful and just; all his precepts are trustworthy.
They are steadfast for ever and ever…
He provided redemption for his people; he ordained his covenant forever – holy and awesome is his name.
The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom; all who follow his precepts have good understanding. To him belongs eternal praise.

I believe in you Lord. I believe you Lord. Lord, help my unbelief. If all that this Psalm declares about you is true – and it is – then how could any who call you Father, Lord, King, Savior, and Friend have such little faith?

Why do we so often live as practical atheists…never quite letting these truths affect us too deeply? How in the world do we find ourselves in ruts when it comes to our devotional times with you? Or, why do we outright skip our time with you in favor of other things? Do you sometimes withdraw your Spirit from us? If so, who could stand? We would become as decimated as King Saul if you did. David knew this and thus begged you not to take your Spirit away from him in Psalm 51.

I don’t think you remove your Spirit from your children Lord. But as Tozer put it this morning, we do rely on our feelings of your Spirit far too much. Perhaps you are seeking to strengthen us by withholding such feelings from us so that we might pursue you anyway…out of love, gratitude, and obedience to who you are and what you have commanded…and sometimes…for no other reason.

But I do thank you Father. I thank you that you do let those incredible feelings of joy and delight and fresh outpourings of your Holy Spirit fall upon us from time to time. How I crave more of that. How I crave more of you!

Lord, let me be in one accord with this Psalm. Let me fear you so that I might know you and receive your wisdom. Let me delight in your great works in redemptive history. May I always remember throughout my life (and be grateful for and humbled by) your righteousness, graciousness, and compassion…for they endure for ever and ever.

Lord, may I oft be reminded of the words of this Psalm so that I might truly know who you are and live my life so as to give you glory and draw the attention of others to you.

Ever humbled by your majesty,
Dale

Leave a Reply

