Questions for Reflection

1 Thessalonians 4:3a – “It is God’s will that you should be sanctified…”

God wants me to be sanctified. It is his will for me. He wants me to be holy as he is holy. He desires for me to be conformed to the likeness of his Son. This process takes a long time – a lifetime. I am impatient. Like everything else in my life, I want spiritual wisdom and maturity right now.

Grace is key. There will be no growth without it. But perseverance is also crucial. When I don’t see immediate results – in whatever facet of my life – I must press on. Sanctification is progressive, after all. It is true that Christ made me holy, but still I must go and “be holy.” After all, Paul says in 1 Thessalonians 4:7, that God did not call me to be impure, but to live a holy life. It’s not an option. It’s not something only for those who are particularly spiritually high-minded. It’s for everyone who calls on the name of Christ.

  • So… how are you doing?

 

  • Are you growing in your sanctification? (that is, growing in Christlikeness and holiness)?

 

  • Are you stuck? Moving backwards? If so, what do you need to change in your life, STARTING TODAY, to help you begin moving forward again?

 

  • What do you need to cut out of your life?

 

  • What do you need to add to your life?

 

  • Are you truly praying that the Lord will help you change in this way?

 

  • What or who in your life influences you most regarding…

    Þ How to think?
    Þ What to think about?
    Þ The words that you speak… or don’t speak?
    Þ The way you live your life?

    Is your public life consistent with your private life? If not, in what ways are they different? How can you become more consistent?

 

  • List some specific ways (five) that you would like to be more like Christ.

 

  • Now list three steps you can and will take immediately to begin that process. Tell someone about your plan and ask them for wisdom and encouragement.

Blessings,
Dale

Leave a Reply

