Don’t Waste Your Cancer

I’ve posted the following article by John Piper before. This version of it has additional comments by David Powlison, which add even more value to an already great article.

Cancer is an ever-present reality in all our lives. The congregation I serve is certainly not a stranger to it. Understanding “why” such things happen seems to be for the domain of God alone. But embracing the God who loves us and promises to never abandon us in the midst of such things is for all of us. I hope the video above and the article below will encourage you to draw closer to God in all things – good and otherwise.

PS – Thanks to my brother-in-law for sending me the link to the video above.

Grace and Truth,
Dale

[Editor’s Note: Our friend, David Powlison, of the Christian Counseling and Education Foundation, who also was recently diagnosed with prostate cancer, has added some helpful expansions to John Piper’s ten points. Indented paragraphs beginning with “DP:” are written by David Powlison.]

I write this on the eve of prostate surgery. I believe in God’s power to heal—by miracle and by medicine. I believe it is right and good to pray for both kinds of healing. Cancer is not wasted when it is healed by God. He gets the glory and that is why cancer exists. So not to pray for healing may waste your cancer. But healing is not God’s plan for everyone. And there are many other ways to waste your cancer. I am praying for myself and for you that we will not waste this pain.

DP: I (David Powlison) add these reflections on John Piper’s words the morning after receiving news that I have been diagnosed with prostate cancer (March 3, 2006). The ten main points and first paragraphs are his; the second paragraphs are mine.

Click here to read the whole article.

Leave a Reply

