Stealing God’s Glory?

I have been thinking about writing on the subject of how we often attempt to rob God of his glory by trying to take credit for so much of what he does in and through us. I’m reminded of how God responded to that sort of thing with Herod in the Book of Acts. That post is still a work in progress. However, it did get me thinking about something I posted back in September, 2006. I’m re-offering it here along with two videos which I did not include the first time around. Enjoy, Dale

*********

Friday evening I watched Kenneth Branagh’s, Henry V. The first time I saw it was about ten years ago. It was far better this second time around. Hopefully that shows some growth on my part.

One of the things that caught and held my attention this time was the sensational soundtrack. In particular, Patrick Doyle’s, Non Nobis, Domine, which you can listen to here. I’m sure I don’t have an adequate vocabulary or imagination to describe how beautiful that piece is. That is why I have linked it. Please take four minutes and twelve seconds to listen to it.

Non Nobis, Domine comes from Psalm 115:1, which reads…

Not to us, O Lord, not to us
but to your name be the glory,
because of your love and
faithfulness.

The actual words of Non Nobis, Domine

Non nobis, Domine, Domine,
Non nobis, Domine,
sed nomini, sed nomini,
tuo da gloriam.

The song comes right after the battle on the field of Agincourt.

Henry V, Act 4, Scene 8 Henry V

KING HENRY V: Do we all holy rites;
Let there be sung ‘Non nobis’ and ‘Te Deum;
‘The dead with charity enclosed in clay:
And then to Calais; and to England then:
Where ne’er from France arrived more happy men.

It wouldn’t be a bad idea to go out and rent the movie. It too was wonderful.

**********************

Here’s the clip…

Here’s Chris Tomlin’s take on it…

2 thoughts on “Stealing God’s Glory?

Leave a Reply

