For Men’s Discipleship at Southside on this Lord’s Day

Below is an email I sent out this morning to the men in our church’s men’s discipleship ministry (which has a good number of men who attend other churches). If you’re not a part of our fellowship, then kindly disregard the reference to our present study. But please, by all means, make full use of the prayer and prayer helps that are offered. May God use them to be a blessing in your life. (And, of course, if you live in the Jacksonville area, you are more than welcome to come and join us.)

Good Morning Brothers,

 I hope and pray that you all have a wonderful Lord’s Day today. Thank the Lord for the rain.

 This week we will study Lesson 12, “Reality Bites Again,” which focuses on Moses being falsely accused – not only by other leaders, but also by his own family. Such is the possible domain of every leader. How would you handle that sort of situation? Would you rush to defend yourself? Get revenge? Run away? We’ll talk about how Moses responded and hopefully gain some biblical clarity with how we should handle such a situation. 

 I thought I would share a prayer for your family and then some Scripture prayers for you to offer on behalf of your family members.

 Prayer for Family

O God our Father, as we begin this day, bestow upon our household that grace which shall keep us in the fellowship of the Christian way, and grant unto each one of us that guidance and control which shall maintain our hearts in peace with one another and with thee. Help and prosper us in the doing of our various duties; and defend us from inward evil and from outward harm so that when the day is ended it may leave us not in sorrow, strife, or shame, but in true unity and thankful rest; through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen. (from the 1965 edition of the Methodist Book of Worship)

 The following Scripture prayers come from Rev. Keven Meador’s website. They have been a real blessing to me.

 Prayer for Yourself

Father, I pray that you would create a clean heart in me. O God, renew a right spirit within me. Change me and mold me into the man that you want me to be. (Psalm 51:10)

 Prayers for Your Wife (if you’re not married, you can pray this right now for your future wife)

I pray that __________ will gain a firm understanding of her secure position in Jesus Christ. Grant her the assurance of salvation. I pray that she would know that she has believed in Christ and received his salvation (1 John 5:13)

 Father, I plead that you will enable me to love __________ unconditionally. Help me show this love to her in all circumstances of our lives together (Romans 5:5).

 Father, grant me the wisdom to help __________ deal with her fears. Deliver me from adding to those fears. Grant me a special sensitivity to those fears and how to help her deal with them (Proverbs 2:6)

 Prayers for Your Children (if you don’t have any children, you can pray for those children you know, mentor, etc.)

Ask God to convict your child of his or her sin. Plead with God to show your child that he or she is a sinner in need of God’s grace and the love of Christ (Jeremiah 17:9; Romans 3:10-18, 23).

 Father, I plead that __________ will love you with all his//her heart, soul, and mind (Matthew 22:37).

 Heavenly Father, you are the perfect Parent. You are gracious, loving, wise, and fair. You are good and right in all your dealings with your children. I plead in the name of Jesus that you will enable me to raise __________. I ask that you will give me the strength and the wisdom to mold and develop __________’s life. I cannot do this without your power or your help. I look to you and trust that you will enable me to do this for your glory and for __________’s good. (Galatians 3:26; Ephesians 1:5).

 Praying for Your Pastor

Father, I ask you make __________ a man after your own heart who will do all your will (Acts 13:22; 1 Samuel 16:7).

 Father, cause __________ to love the Word of God with all his heart and enable him to memorize and meditate on it all day (Psalm 119:97).

 Father, I plead that __________’s ministry would be fruitful and would glorify you (John 15:16; Colossians 1:28).

 Prayers for those in need of Physical Healing

Father, you created __________. You formed him/her. You knit his/her inward parts in the womb. You alone know how to make what is right in __________’s body. You alone know how to heal __________. As his/her Creator, I pray that you would grant healing to __________. Let your power envelop him/her and bring the healing that is needed (Genesis 1:26; Psalm 139).

 Have a blessed day today brothers.

In Christ,
Dale

Leave a Reply

