Jesus on Discipleship

I know that virtually everything that came out of our Lord’s mouth was about discipleship. Just as you don’t have to read the word “trinity” in the Bible to know that the idea is well represented in its pages, neither do you have to “hear” Jesus using some form of the word “disciple” to know that the idea permeated everything he taught.

Having said that, I thought it still might be interesting to look up and share with you those places in the gospels where Jesus used the word.

Matthew 28:19 – Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit,

Luke 14:26-27 – “If anyone comes to me and does not hate his father and mother, his wife and children, his brothers and sisters–yes, even his own life–he cannot be my disciple. [27] And anyone who does not carry his cross and follow me cannot be my disciple.

Luke 14:33 – In the same way, any of you who does not give up everything he has cannot be my disciple.

John 8:31 – To the Jews who had believed him, Jesus said, “If you hold to my teaching, you are really my disciples.

John 13:35 – By this all men will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.”

John 15:8 – This is to my Father’s glory, that you bear much fruit, showing yourselves to be my disciples.

Now, here are a few of the “follow me” sorts of texts from Jesus that certainly communicate the idea of discipleship.

Matthew 4:19 – “Come, follow me,” Jesus said, “and I will make you fishers of men.”

Matthew 8:22 – But Jesus told him, “Follow me, and let the dead bury their own dead.”

Matthew 9:9 – As Jesus went on from there, he saw a man named Matthew sitting at the tax collector’s booth. “Follow me,” he told him, and Matthew got up and followed him.

Matthew 10:38 – and anyone who does not take his cross and follow me is not worthy of me.

Matthew 16:24 – Then Jesus said to his disciples, “If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross and follow me.

Matthew 19:21 – Jesus answered, “If you want to be perfect, go, sell your possessions and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me.”

Mark 8:34 – Then he called the crowd to him along with his disciples and said: “If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross and follow me.

Luke 9:23 – Then he said to them all: “If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me.

Luke 14:27 – And anyone who does not carry his cross and follow me cannot be my disciple.

Luke 18:22 – When Jesus heard this, he said to him, “You still lack one thing. Sell everything you have and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me.”

John 8:12 – When Jesus spoke again to the people, he said, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”

John 10:27 – My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me.

John 12:26 – Whoever serves me must follow me; and where I am, my servant also will be. My Father will honor the one who serves me.

Here are some of the texts in the gospels that relate to “loving and obeying Jesus” as key to being his disciple.

Matthew 10:37 – “Anyone who loves his father or mother more than me is not worthy of me; anyone who loves his son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me;

Matthew 28:20 – and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”

Luke 6:46 – “Why do you call me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ and do not do what I say?

John 8:42 – Jesus said to them, “If God were your Father, you would love me, for I came from God and now am here. I have not come on my own; but he sent me.

John 14:15 – “If you love me, you will obey what I command.

John 14:21 – Whoever has my commands and obeys them, he is the one who loves me. He who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I too will love him and show myself to him.”

John 14:23-24 – Jesus replied, “If anyone loves me, he will obey my teaching. My Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our home with him. [24] He who does not love me will not obey my teaching. These words you hear are not my own; they belong to the Father who sent me.

John 15:9-10 – “As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Now remain in my love. [10] If you obey my commands, you will remain in my love, just as I have obeyed my Father’s commands and remain in his love.

John 15:12-14 – My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you. [13] Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends. [14] You are my friends if you do what I command.

Grace and Truth,
Dale

Leave a Reply

