Two Responses from Mormons

I don’t get many comments to my posts. I don’t often ask for responses and I guess my posts don’t usually demand responses. Yet, every now and then something I write will motivate one or two people to drop me a note to share their thoughts with me.

Case in point: I received two comments related to my most recent post on Mormonism and Politics.

The first response was very gracious (via Facebook) from an old friend from high school days. We haven’t talked or seen each other in over 25 years. However, I clearly remember him as always very friendly, kind, and smart. Though I don’t think I knew it then, I have since learned that he is also a very devout Mormon.

He shared with me that he appreciated that the articles linked to my post were not incendiary, but instead, were honest and well-reasoned. He did, however, disagree with some of what they said at various points. I have offered him a “guest spot” on a forthcoming post to share where he believes they misrepresented what Mormons actually believe. (I have already read his initial draft and have found it very interesting indeed.)

His response was very warm, gracious, and open to further conversations. In fact… I might just get a lunch out of it. 😉

You can read the second comment I received in the comments section to the first post. I don’t actually know if this person is a Mormon or not, (because he wrote anonymously, but I’m assuming he is), but this person was clearly not happy about what I wrote and linked. Fair enough.

However, there are a couple of things I feel I ought to point out…

1.) My first post was just that… a blog post. It was not a school report on what Mormons believe, though one or two of the articles shared a little of that. Nor was it a hit-piece tearing down Mormonism. It was merely looking at whether or not evangelicals could vote for a Mormon… as well as what might inform that decision. Thus, the articles I linked necessarily, yet briefly, touched on a few Mormon doctrines, etc. I’m pretty sure that each writer came down on the side of not writing off a candidate for his or her theological beliefs alone… though those beliefs must surely be considered as they may influence political views. But again, the articles were not intended say all that might be said on Mormon doctrine. That is also why my post didn’t give both sides a say (though, as I mentioned above, I’m going to give a spot to my friend so that he might share his thoughts in response to my post).

2.) Secondly, the second commenter bemoaned “the fact” that in 2011 there was still so much “hate.” I’m sorry he feels that way, but if my post or the articles I linked represent “hate” in his eyes, he must have a very hard life, because there was not the least bit of hate in anything that was written. If adults cannot disagree with one another’s theological views without such disagreement being considered hateful, then we’re in some serious trouble. (Though this seems to be a favorite rhetorical device of many in the political world.)

I’m looking forward to my friend’s response to my post. I think some interaction on this subject with a Mormon, and not merely “the books on my shelves” that I alluded to in my first post will be very helpful and clarifying to all concerned. That’s what I’m hoping for.

Grace and Truth,
Dale

Leave a Reply

