A Prayer for a Saturday Night

Another week of my life has passed, O Lord. As I look back, how swiftly have the days, the hours gone by! Behold, Thou hast made my days as a handbreadth. Therefore, Lord, make me to know my end and the measure of my days, what it is, that I may know how frail I am. I poor dying mortal come to Thee, O eternal Lord, who hast been my Dwelling Place in all generations. Thou art the same; and as Thy years shall have no end, so Thou shalt ever remain the Lord, the Lord God, merciful and gracious, long-suffering, and abundant in goodness and truth, keeping mercy for thousands, forgiving iniquity and transgression and sin.

To Thee I come in this evening hour. I thank Thee that during the past week Thy compassions did not fail and Thy mercies were new every morning. Thou has kept me in Thy Word and grace. Shield me with Thy mercy during the coming night that I may go tomorrow with the multitudes to Thy house and with the voice of thanksgiving publish Thy loving-kindness and tell of all Thy wondrous works; for Jesus’ sake. Amen.

from The Lutheran Book of Prayer

Leave a Reply

